YouTube has new regulations regarding 'duplicative content' for its YouTube Partners
YouTube has new regulations regarding 'duplicative content' for its YouTube Partners

Creators apart of YouTube’s Partner Program, or YPP, must now follow new regulations regarding “duplicative content” or face removal from the program.

According to a post on YouTube’s Help Forum, those in the Partner Program — creators who monetize their content on the platform — who violate the new content rules will be removed. It doesn’t matter whether the channel is new or established. YouTube will remove it.

What are the new rules for ‘duplicative content’ on YouTube?

YouTube says Partner videos that defy their new ‘duplicative content’ generally fit one or more of the following descriptions:

  • appear to be automatically generated
  • pull from third party sources with no content or narrative added by the creator
  • use content uploaded many times by multiple users and the user is not the original uploader
  • be uploaded in a way that is trying to get around YouTube’s copyright tools

Creators are still allowed to upload videos that include third party content. However, it’s possible that a Partner could violate the new ‘duplicative content’ rules. This can happen even if he or she has a license to use the content or if it falls under fair use.

YouTube says, “In most cases, even if you have licenses to use the content or your videos are protected by copyright laws, such as fair use, if the main purpose of your channel is to monetize other channels’ or sources’ content, then you won’t be eligible for YPP. ”

Here’s how Partners can avoid violating the new regulations

If Partners want to use third party content and stay in the YPP, they must “add value” to their uploads. There’s multiple ways Partners can add value to their videos. For instance, they can add commentary or even critique the added content.

However, Partners removed from the program are allowed to reapply after 30 days. So it isn’t a full ban, more like a penalty.

YouTube says the changes are apart of a bigger effort to keep their creators to safe from dangers like piracy.

Did you find this content helpful?