180 degree rule fix

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi,
      I’m new to video filming and editing. One of the obvious mistakes for a novice is breaking 180 degree rule, and I did it several times while filming with a drone.
      Last time I was filming a powerboat going into a not-so-fast spin. I did use an nd filter but still had an exposure of 1 / 200 sec. Dron was just ‘ sitting ‘ above a powerboat, but footage looks a bit choppy.
      Is there a way to fix it in Premier, to get some motion blur and make it smooth ?
      Thanks

Participant

If you post a clip, it would help. Others could take a try at it. Any smoothing (like a blur) will also lose detail.

• This reply was modified 1 year, 5 months ago by Avatarbobspez.
      Participant

With regard to your first paragraph: the simplest way to fix shots that break the 180 degree “rule” is to cut to a neutral shot between the offending shots. For example: shot One has an airplane flying from the viewer’s left to right. Shot Two has the same plane entering frame from the viewer’s right and flying left. Insert a shot of spectators looking up toward the sky *no plane in sight) and the problem is resolved. You’ve effectively changed the observer’s viewpoint.

Participant

JackWolcott Sorry about the confusion – I was referring to 180 degree shutter rule. It looks like there’s not enough fps to capture smooth movement. I was shooting at 25 fps, for that kind of scene should have been at least 50. I’ll speed up the clip some 200 – 300 % in any case, don’t know whether it’s going to make it better or worse.

Participant

Bobspez Agree, will post the clip when I get it of the card.

Participant

I finished a short promo clip, here is the link :

All clips are at ‘ optical flow ‘, but there is no echo on it. Although all camera movements were ( reasonably ) slow and gentle there is still some amount of flicker and jitter.
      As I said all is shot at 25 fps, at 4 k.