Where to start? Basic lessons for beginners?

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      mdonchev
      Participant

Hello,

I'm new to alllthis serious video making. Recently i bought mynew hd camera and i want to make interesting short clips which are basedon some topics. Until now alll my videos were quite homemade and not nice to look at, so i'm womdering if i can find some basic step by step lessons about how to prepare (story boarding?) and everything else i need to do to shoot, edit and create a small nice video clip. 

Thanks to all of you in advance

Martin

JackWolcott
      Participant

Start of right here, with Videomaker. You'll find lots of turorials, as well as DVDs illustrating "how to" and beaucoup articles.

Go to You Tube and type the topic you're interested in into the search engine; you'll be overwhelmed with both excellent and not-so-excellent tutorials. Videomaker has quite a few very good instructional clips, and even the poorly presented material can often be gleaned for choice bits.

Depending on what software you're using to edit, you can almost certaintly find tutorials on line, both at the software web site and on You Tube.

Finally, look at your local library and a amazon.com, where you'll find dozens of books for beginners.

Have fun,

Luis Maymi Lopez
      Participant

And ask any questions you have in the forums. We are here to help each other. 

mdonchev
      Participant

Hi,

Thanks all for the quick replies.

I'm planning to use Final Cut as I have a book for it,

but my question is more focused on the procedure itself.

I want to know what the whole process of making a short video is.

For example: for a one minute video clip … what steps I should take to create a professional short video.