what stuff do I need first

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi everybody, this is my first post and I am brand new to video work. My qestion is broad but I would like to know what more experiecned peoples opinions are.

Ok to start:- I am doing some shooting in two main arena's — small ten minute interviews and shooting instructional yoga asana's in a yoga studio.  The studio is white walls, with dimmable wall lights and one deep red feature wall, in the shooting I will have shots side on, with a white wall as background, and front on is the red wall. In interviews they may be in the same studio, or at people's homes.

Equipment currently. Sony HXR-NX30P semi pro – Canon HF10 consumer. wireless mic lavalier set, Two 125W soft boxes and booms, a DIY blue screen I made, Two tripods, a DIY 150cm slider and DIY table dolly – (very good for rolling around a yogi doing floor exercises, to move from front to side in a smooth roll.)

So now I am considering the following equipment, but am so confused as to what to spend my meagre dollars on to get the best results. I can't afford mega bucks, so initially may have to go for chinese gear through ebay. Even though I know I will probably get better stuff later.

I am looking at 7 inch monitors

LED Bi Color, dimmable, with battery 3200/5000k x 2 (no idea about number of LED's)

Red head lighting kit with 3 x 800W/3200K adjustable focus heads. But at $180.00 aus I am a bit sus that these are just too cheap and might be a waste of money.

OR something else in lighting with dimmers etc for fill, hair and background lighting

A couple of matte boxes of some sort mainly for future outdoor work

and basically anything else to get me better equipped.

I don't want a ton of fancy gear, and no ability, so I need like a fair starter level, that I can then use to help build my skills with. The skills are obviously the most important factor.

I would be very interested in your views.

Thank you

Participant