What Should I Use?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      ladubois

Hi, I apologize for being a complete newbie, and sort of crashing your forums, but I have almost no idea how to begin learning what I need to. So apologies if this thread is in the wrong forum, or if I’m on entirely the wrong site, but it seemed like a good first place to at least start looking for answers.

Let me start with the project: I am working on a sort of literary criticism-style examination of a video game, and decided that it would be best to accompany this critique with gameplay footage to better discuss and illustrate my points. Of course, I’d like this footage to be archive-worthy, so I’d like to ask your collective advice on what programs, formats, containers, codecs, and so on would best suit my needs, since I tried figuring it out on my own, but clearly trying to make heads or tells of whether I should use one codec or another would take me months of research, let alone what sorts of containers and programs can be used with them (or even whether I’m approaching this from entirely the wrong angle, and should be considering containers or programs first, although I doubt it).

I intend to upload the gameplay videos in about 50-60 minute long segments. Quality is a bit higher concern for me than file size, but the game is Final Fantasy IX – a PlayStation game released in 2000 with great-for-the-time graphics, albeit still limited to 480i. Although, I’d probably like to record and edit the footage at 576p or 720p to reduce loss. Sound quality is important, too, but I don’t need it to be perfect. As long as it isn’t noticeably degraded, I’m happy.