What Should I Know as a Beginner?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Hello I have recently just started doing videography for people and its very fun and exciting. I enjoy it a lot, I am a beginner and don’t know much about this business so if you guys have some tips for me that would be awesome, here is my website: http://www.davidsaganproductions.com/

All those client videos were recorded with my Panasonic G7 but I have since sold it and now have a blackmagic pocket cinema camera on the way shipping to my house with 2 clients waiting for me. So yeah please check out my work and tell me what I should do to present myself better or any tips. Thank you so much!

Congratulations, hope you maintain your enthusiasm and clients. What are you doing with your audio and lighting? You might want to work on your lighting. What looks like couple of lights full on in your promo isn’t the best approach especially if you’re shooting yourself against a wall. You might want to think about backgrounds and composition, like “rule of thirds”. A BMPCC isn’t the most mobile. Videomaker has some great articles and hints.

Hi David, quantum improvement on the website video, you obviously know what you’re doing, sorry if I sounded patronising. My big issue with the BMPCC was although it’s small you can’t see the screen in daylight (like an iPhone but unlike the G7 evf) so you’ll need at least a hood, People do use it hand held, but the wobble doesn’t hold up against the G7 or even the iPhone IS, maybe you use a tripod all the time. Plus there’s no XLR audio (which is OK if you use most wireless lavs),and you need a battery workaround to get longer life. Of course the BMPCC is a great camera, just didn’t sound like that much of an upgrade from the G7, but you probably had the lenses and you might not need the mobility. The BMPCC obviously is capable of shooting great color.