What should I charge?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hello! I was recently asked to edit a video for a non profit organization to promote one of their international internship. They asked me to estimate how much I would charge for the whole project.

The video will be approximately 20 minutes and will feature 8 interviews. I will be given all the visual for the interview. I don’t think there will be any complex editing, probably cropping, adding texts, minor coloration, etc. Also, I will have to add subtitles in english and french since the original audio will be in spanish.

I’m a student and I only did 30 seconds commercials for small businesses. It’s the first time I do a 20 minutes video and I know non profit organization don’t have huge budgets. I have no idea how much to charge for this video. I need to send them the answer by Wednesday, July 19.

Thank you in advance!

Participant

20 minutes running time – so without the subtitles maybe what? a days editing, if things are not too complex, the subtitles thing concerns me if I were doing it. Who is translating? Is the translation supplied as a script? 20 minutes of interview with subtitles – typed a line at a time, then manipulated would probably take me a couple of days.

So – probably three genuine days work. How much do you work for? Where you are sets the scale too – Here in the UK, this would mean £660 plus VAT for the 3 days – but I’d want the translation quantity and amount very clearly itemised so that if the quantity of dialogue means unexpected subtitle work,I can increase the price to cater for it.