What should I charge?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

I am 15 and I have been editing videos for five years now. I started with Corel Video Studio Pro X4, which was a really great beginner software. Now, five years later, my school is offering to pay me to edit some of their projects. I have already edited many of their projects for free, but when they approached me with larger projects, I told them I could not take such projects on, at least not without some kind of payment.The person in charge said I should do some research to see how much a beginner video editor makes (which is perfectly acceptable), and come up with a price that I think is right.
      After doing a bit of research, the average beginner editor makes $12 / hour. If you ask me, that seems like an awful lot. At that rate, I would be asking them to pay me $1,200 to edit a drama performance, which is an hour long and take about 40-45 minutes to edit a 2 minute segment (which is one of the projects they need done). At most, I think they would be able to pay me $200.
      So where is the fair balance? What should I be charging to edit a project that is and hour long? The project is fairly complicated, as I have to line up a video track with an audio track that is similar, but does not match it completely. Also, there are two camera angles, which only adds to the mess. This means a lot of cutting, stretching, and tweaking to make it look as good as possible. It’s a long process.
      Also, what about shorter projects? They asked me to create a slideshow that is 35 seconds long. They already supplied me with the photos, so this could easily be done in under an hour. No text of any kind, just a simple fade at the beginning and end. I’m doing this one for free, but what if I had charged for it? What would be a fair price?

Thanks

Participant