Wedding videographer service starting cheap?

northweddings's picture

Hello this is my first time posting on here and I'm new to the site, so I hope its in the rite place?

Just a quick question on here for advice to other videographers.

I started a new wedding videography business this year in March and have spent a few grand in buying equipment. I've also come from a background in film production before going into weddings.

Anyway, I've had now around 6 weddings since March of this year; the first two were free, the third was for £450 for a full day wedding and edit, the forth for £300 for 3 hours work and the fifth for £600.

At the moment I have been busy building up my website and portfolio of work and have started to get great reviews and referrals from my clients. However I do know that building a business is slow at first and you have to gain a decent amount of recognition before charging the big bucks.

At the moment I've had to turn away some client as they were looking for a full day's wedding for £400 and I just didn't want to be seen as cheap so I kindly turned those clients away.

However I have been given some advice from some friends and family who have said that I should take any work that comes my way regardless of how much they're paying as its money. And until I'm getting clients constantly booking I can't higher my prices and should accept the lower payments.

Regardless today I had a similar customer contact me requesting my services for April next year. She wanted 2 days of filming, 6 hours on a Friday and 12 hours on a Saturday with 2 highlights reels and 2 main video's. The price she wanted that for was £500 and again I was advised to take it as its better than nothing, again I kindly declined and offered the two days for £750