Wedding shooter wanting to make switch to DSLR

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Goose080
      Participant

Hello, I have been shooting weddings for a few years now with a pair of Panasonic AG-HVX 200s. They do pretty well but I was looking to make the switch to DSLRs due to size and weight as well as the ability to be more creative. I am looking at Cannons and am unsure which to get. Would it be recommended to get two 5D Mark iii's? Should I get 1 5D and 1 6D or 7D? I am looking for advice from someone who has shot weddings with any of these cameras and your opinions/experiences. If anyone has any other suggestions I am also open. I would like to have one by winter so I have plenty of time to test before next years wedding season. Thanks in advance!

-Nick

brunerww

Hi Goose080 – welcome to the world of large sensor, interchangeable lens cameras!

It's probably a good idea to switch.  Coming from camcorders, however, I would avoid Canon DSLRs for video.

Canons  lack:

– High frame rates for smooth HD slow motion (they are all limited to 30 frames per second)

– 4096x2160p "4K" resolution for the new Ultra High Definition TVs (except for the $7999 1D C, they are all limited to 1920x1080p)

– a usable viewfinder when you switch to "Live View" (video) mode (their viewfinders are blocked by the reflex mirror)

– usable video autofocus (except for the 70D)

– compatibility with affordable power zoom lenses

Canon cameras are also limited to 30 minutes of continuous recording.  After 30 minutes, they have to be restarted.  This can be a problem if you ever need to set a camera up for a wide shot and just let it run.

Instead of a Canon DSLR, you might want to seriously consider the $1497.99 (on sale) mirrorless 4K Panasonic GH4.