We will pay you, BUT, we want it for free!

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Open Forum We will pay you, BUT, we want it for free!

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Advice required

I will surmise my experience to give a quick and clear version of events

I am an amateur videographer who owns and uses 4 different types of HD consumer cameras

I was booked to film a live concert in Oct2012 using 3 cameras – fee free, called "exposure and experience"
      I was happy to do this on the premise that I might get future booking (you've all heard this before)

Concert was filmed over a 4 hour period and all went as expected from an amateurs POV. Promoters were surprised to see 3 cameras and offered to book me for all future shows PAID for. Pricing not discussed though!  

Editing was performed using Vegas Pro12 synced with Plural Eyes3 – all went well. I spent approx 20hrs editing video and audio. (I need you to not laugh right now).

Invited one of the promoters to my house/home studio to view and collect finalised/rendered video file. He was surprised considering the relatively low level of organisation regarding the filming. We talked for a bit, while the file (22GB) transferred to his external HDD and we seemed to hit it off regarding music interests and family life.

We got to the point where he asked what I would charge to film future events, I hadn't given it much thought so I offered a two part fee – $250 for the night approx 4 hrs and $250 for a basic edit – no titles, no colouring, no audio adjustments – just sync video and cuts.
      His response, was surprising to say the least, I remember, he paused – looked at his iphone, pressed on an app (I'm assuming his text msgs) and blurted out " we were hoping you would do it for free".