You're using a beta version of our new web site.

Video production training question

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Deana 2 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author

Kenny
    Participant

Hello everyone, my name is Kenny Taylor, I live in Cullman, Alabama and this is my first post to this group forum. I strolled across this site looking for information regarding video production and shooting techniques.

Career wise, I’m a Paramedic supervisor and aside from farming, healthcare is all I know. As a kid however, I could have possibly been the first one to utilize 5.1 surround with nothing more than a mono cable. Lol. I have always been fascinated with the engineering involved in sound and in some ways video. Life intervened and it was healthcare that I set my feet in.

Most recently, I have started in with the sights and sounds ministry at our church. While I don’t have anything to compare my church to others with, I am impressed of the huge emphasis on video and sound production for adults, youth and child services. All three have their own sets and is streamed in HD on LCD’s and large projection screens throughout the church. In the main service we have snippets of what is happening throughout the other services so everyone is involved someway.

I will admit that my short time spent on the camera has renewed some of my youthful interest, but when it boils down to true experience, I don’t have much more knowledge than turning the camera on. lol So, to get to the point, if I were to decide to take some classes, which type of classes would those be and in what type of order? I know this is a rather wide question, but essentially, as someone who has just got their feet wet, what can I do to learn the aspects of video production from taping the cables down to editing content for distribution?