Using mini DV hd tapes

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I have a paranoia about losing my work after 2 friends lost all their footage with data cards not being loaded properly. One shot over 25 days and LOST IT! Any advice on handling it to make sure it never happens? Im still using mini DV in my paranoia!

Participant

Have a worflow for data collection. I have a main editing station and a laptop I can edit on. I use the laptop for all my data collection to external drives. I can color dailies on it and show footage to other crew or clients on it, then transfer the externals to the main machine for editing. But I collect all data at the end of every session. 

Going 25 days without collecting is setting yourself up for such things. Collect and back up often.

Participant

+1 to what Woody said. I've been shooting on SD cards for the past two years and my workflow remains the same. When I get back from a shoot, the first thing I do is to copy the footage from the cards to my computer's internal hard drive and then to an external for back up purposes.

Stick to the brand of card that the manufacturer recommends (or better) and you can't go wrong.

I'm not saying that there can't be manufacturing defects but this is rare.

If it's a brand new card, stick it in the camera, format it, hit record (shoot anything just as a test) and then check the card for errors. If it passes, then use it with confidence.

Mike

Participant

+2 to Woody's comments. Offload daily, no matter what the media, so you have an immediate backup. What's interesting here is that I had a media failure with mini DV tape while shooting a wedding. Lost 7 minutes of the ceremony. Good thing it was a relative with no obligations attached! That incident caused me to upgrade to a dual card camcorder that I always operate in redundant record mode. Haven't had a failure yet.

RockyRocky
      Participant