using lens in low light

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

last night I had used a 35mm lens on a canon 70d to shoot a program at my church. the image was a little noisy. Also the sound did not come out that great. My question is what is the best lens to use with a canon 70d during low light please. I am a beginner and I want to get better !!

Pete TomkiesPete Tomkies
      Participant

The focal length of the lens won’t affect how noisy the image is, that’s related to the exposure settings you are using. For low light filming you want a lens with a large aperture but be aware that the wider the aperture the shallower the depth of field will be so focusing will be more difficult. Also the ISO setting will affect the noise in your image – for video you should keep to ISO 800 or below. The built in microphones on DSLR cameras are not good and the built in pre-amps often add hiss to the audio. Ideally you should record the audio using a separate audio recorder and microphone(s). If you do need to record audio in camera look to get something like the Rode Video Mic Pro which has a +20dB setting to avoid excess audio hiss when recording with DSLRs.

Participant

First of all – use manual settings! If you turn your camera to the green spot on the wheel, none of this advice will help.

That said, there are a millions articles online explaining how cameras work and I would suggest you read up on something called the “Exposure Triangle.” But in a nutshell – the exposure is affected by three factors:
      1. How much light is hitting your sensor (aperture measured in f-stop)
      2. How long that light hits your sensor (shutter speed)
      3. How sensitive your sensor is (ISO)

Without know the settings you used, it’s hard to say where things got noisy. But the simple fact is this – cameras need light to work and the less of it you have, the harder it is to get a clean image.

So here are my suggestions for low light situations –

Lenses: