Understanding Frame Rate per sec and megabits per sec

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Understanding Frame Rate per sec and megabits per sec

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi I am new to this and I am trying to work out things I don't understand.  As I understand it the megabits per second relate to the quality of the image being recorded and the frame rate per second is the number of individual frames recorded each second.  If the camera is set to 30mbps and the frame rate is 25fps I should get a certain quality of image.  Now if I change the frame rate to 50fps and leave the quality at 30 mbps what happens?  How is it possible for the mbps figure to stay the same?  Surely it would have to produce twice the number of frames in a second and as a result the quality of each frame would drop.  Obviously my understanding of how this works is incorrect but I would be really grateful if some one could put me right as I can see this pretty basic to being able to get the best I can out of my camcorder.  Thanks

One thing we need to know is this:  Is it shooting progressive or interlaced video.  When it's shooting 25fps, it's obviously progressive.  But when you switch it to shoot 50fps, is it still shooting progressive frames, or are they interlaced?

Participant

Ah!  Now you have introduced another thing I don't understand!  I think it is interlaced as I see an "i" after the 50.  To let you understand better my camcorder is a Canon XA20.  I can set it to AVCHD or MP4.  When set to AVCHD  24mps or less I can change the frame rate to 50i or PF24.  If I set the movie format to MP4 I can't change the frame rate at all.  The option is greyed out on the menu.  I would like to know what setting I should choose to get the best quality from my camera.  Thanks.