tracking release forms & video clip library

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Does anyone have a good system for tracking release forms with video clips that span several projects over time? 

I'm a videographer for a university. Part of my responsibilities are collecting and organizing a library of clips that we can use for various video projects. Up until now, we have not concerned ourselves with getting release forms from university students, faculty, and staff when shooting for university marketing videos.

Recently, last week, the creative department was told that we need to have release forms for photos and video clips we shoot.  Not every single shot but generall speaking, any shot where individuals are easilly identifyable or prominent.  For example, last night I shot a graduate level class for student/faculty interaction and I had the whole class sign release forms.  Just from last night's shoot, I have over 30 clips of roughly fifteen students with various mixtures of students in each clip.  I'll use those clips on several projects over the next few weeks and probably several more over the next year.

The forms won't be tied to a particular project and there are multiple forms for various clips so I can't put, for example, students' names in the filename of the clip.  The forms are physical, so I can't dump them in the folder on the hard drive with the clips.

If Jane Doe challenges the use of her image in a marketing video, how can I track release forms so that I can go back through the archive/project and find the form that goes with the complaint?

Participant

I would tie the shoot name to the release files. For example: "Shoot name=Grad level student/faculty interact. 1/24/2018." This would be on a clap board or cardboard, shot at the beginning of the shoot so it becomes a permanent part of the video. Store all the clips from this shoot on your computer in one folder or on a data DVD.