to buy or not to buy (old sony dvcam dsr 250)

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

hi to all,

please, let me first introduce myself as nick and basically i am a sound engineer having a very small project studio at my home

i am thinking to start with video recordings since i have too much spare time now

i have a good experience as a photographer with film cameras but shooting video is an absolutely different story

unfortunately i cannot buy a brand new hd pro camera like the canon xc10 / xf 205 or the jvc gy-hm200 so i have to find something from the secondhand market even an older video camera such the sony dvcam dsr250 (used in good condition for 440 euros)

furthermore, i want to help some people from a local charity club with video recordings of some of the club’s events (lectures, amateur theatre, music shows)

i have some experience with video recordings since i had several years ago a sony mini dv camera model dcr-hc62

i have to say also that i have done some sd video edits before (sony vegas 5) since i create music for documentaries and short movies (electronic music)

please, let me ask if the sony dsr 250 can record in low light such as indoors, ballet and theatre performances

i think dvcam is a good choice for me because of the very long recording time (184 minutes) and i do not care at all abou hd video

finally, since dvcam recorder / player is too expensive i am thinking to use the dsr 250 to record from vhs video for further editing

i was thinking to buy the canopus advc110 to digitize old vhs videos but this will cost more than 340 euros with taxes so why not to but that old sony dvcam dsr 250

the charity club have many old vhs cassettes (pal) that have to be transfered onto dvd / vcd

sorry if i spoke too much with my first post

many thanks in advance

Participant

Right – firstly, I sympathise with your predicament.

Good news