Tip on what camera to get for field training videos

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Specialty Topics Educational Video Tip on what camera to get for field training videos

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

My boss gave me an assignment to help make training videos, they will be shot in multiple light conditions for both indoor and outdoor. It's also very likely that we will shot in varying weather conditions. At this point the budget is whatever gets the job done 🙂

the down side is that I'm very new to handling video camera, I'm mostly a motion effects guy. What camera would be best to use that is pro, that doesn't have a steep learning curve?

thanks

Participant

First you need a budget, then cameras, microphones, lights, weatherproofing to fit the budget. Minimum requirement for a budget camera for what you are doing is to have a mic jack. Then you need a mic and, since you will be outdoors, that too will have to be on the hardy side. If you are more than a couple feet from your talent, if you have talent, you will probably need a wireless mic. otherwise for pictures of work processes you can capture the ambient sound and narrate over top in post.

Participant

Do you expect to shoot in foul weather a lot??? The Sony NX70U is rainproof (not submersible.) It can handle 32-104 degrees.

Or you can attach one of those camping chair clamp-on umberellas to your tripod to keep your camera dry/shaded. It saved my T3i (and me) from baking a couple of weeks ago on an all day shoot in the sun.

Without a lot more information it might be hard to give you a better answer than this.

Participant

Hi Atempaj,