syncing

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am new to video production and am having a problem with syncing video and audio. What I am working with is video recorded on a Sony camera recorded in VOB format, and audio which is recorded at the same time onto a CD recorder through a mixing board. Since the video and the audio is recorded at the same time, they should be the same length. I am ripping the video with Freemake into an AVI format so that I will have the camera audio with it, making it easier to sync up the good quality audio from the CD and then removing the camera audio.Bringing it into Premiere Pro, I find that the video is slightly shorter than the CD audio file. Am I possibly ripping it with the wrong framerate in Freemake? Is there another way to rip the VOB video and get it to the original length/framerate? Thanks for any help.

Participant

Rather than ripping the video, change the VOB extension to MPG and see if that will drop on your Premiere timeline. I do this all the time with Sony Vegas Pro and it works so try it and see.

Camcorders and CD recorders are not known for being accurate, especially over long periods of time. If the difference between the two is small, either cut out some silence on the CD track or speed it up/slow it down to match the video length.

Mike

Participant

Thanks for the reply Mike. I've tried changing the extension, but when I bring it into PP, I don't get the audio with it.

Participant

Also, the VOBs on the disk are split into several VOB files. When I drop them into PP, I get a noticable hiccup between the two VOBs. By ripping the disk, I get one continuous video file, which is preferable.

Participant

Why do you need to have separate audio ?

Any video camera that I've used has had  microphone inputs, so that audio and video are recorded at the same time, and, of course, stay in perfect sync., so there's never a need to manually sync the audio with the video It's done automtically in camera.