Super 8 Troubles

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

So I’ve been getting into super 8 film. I’m a bit new to the medium though, and I just recently got back my first processed roll. It came out looking like this:

The film I shot was an old Kodachrome 40 cartridge… I realize that these are out of production and that it’s best to just stay away from it, but I didn’t know that until I’d already bought it and I decided to shoot on it since I’d heard of places that would still process it in black and white. I then sent it to Film Rescue International. The camera I shot it on was a Bell & Howell XL Filmosonic sound camera (not sure if this is necessarily important but I’m including it anyway). I’m wondering why the film turned out this way… I’m not sure if I did something wrong or if the problem is with the film itself. As far as I know there are no problems with the camera, I’d just recently sent it in to a professional to have it fixed and it was working fine. In the future I’m going to buy film exclusively from Kodak’s website, that seems like the smartest thing to do. I’m just wondering if there was some mistake I made that resulted in the film looking like this.

Participant

There are several possibilities which explain your problem: the film stock is probably very old and degraded, perhaps stored in a box up in someone’s attic; or the film is very seriously underexposed; or it was incorrectly developed; or a combination of all three.

There’s some very good information at http://www.cinematography.com/index.php?showtopic=48841 which might be helpful. Also, see if you can find anything about Guy Madden, a Canadian feature film maker who shoots almost exclusively in Super-8mm. There may be useful information there.

CharlesBennettCharlesBennett
      Participant

The film looks fogged. Has it by any chance gone through an airport x-ray scanner?

Participant