Suggestions? Lighting, grading, etc.

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey,

Major newb here who just found this forum. I am looking for some opinions regarding my lighting (raw footage), color correction and grading. I have edited everything into a couple minute film.

Tell me which color grade you like best, and whether the lighting on my raw footage is about right. Like I said, I am VERY new to this! The settings on my T3I are 200 ISO, 50, 24 p, 1.8 Aper. 1920×1080 (rendered down to 720), on the "Faithful" video mode, with -2's across the board… My lighting set up is a basic fluorescent 3 point lighting kit, with an additional 8 foot flouresecent lighting the Green screen. I was originally going to use my GH2 for filming, but it does NOT like my green screen. Something about it makes noise pop up like crazy (if anyone knows why, I would be appreciate of an answer!) Anyway, tell me what you think!

Participant

The actor has very deep eye and would benefit from some light tweaks.  Basically, it's WAY too flat and it's very unflattering.   

The backlight is non-existant.  Stronger backlight will help your key and make the guy stand out. 
      Light on right.  Go up about 1 foot.  Warm it up with some CTO 1/4.
      Light on left.  Move it much closer to the lens and lower the output by 1 to 2 stops.  This will help his deep set eyes and sculpt it a bit.

As to your color grading, I like my own mix 1, but that's totally subjective. 

As to the background, all thos converging lines into the actors head make his head look crazy big. Something with less perspective would be less horrifying to small furry animals. πŸ˜‰

Participant