Suggested camcorder under $1500 for newbie?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello everyone,

I would like to buy a camcorder and my budget is around $1500. Here is some information on my background and intentions which I realize should affect the purchase.

Intentions:

I mainly record indoors comedy videos, but I'm eager to experiment with more artistic style of films which may involve outdoors shooting (does that mean I should get a camcorder that can change lenses?)

Background:

Although I have been making videos for many years (5-6), I never had a good piece of equipment to make them look good. I used mobile phones and whatever cheapo camcorders laying around the house. This means I am a total newbie to professional equipment or event "decent" equipment. But since I've been doing this for fun all these years… I feel like it's time to take it a step further.
      Thanks to the Internet I have gained a bunch of information over the past week about filming, cameras, specs, etc, yet I realize I can't pick a camera because I have ZERO experience with pro gear.

As a side note, I would be interested to learn
      what are your own sources for news on the field,
      like blogs, youtube channels, etc

Thanks for your time!

Hi George – if you want your comedy videos to look like this:

You might want to consider the $1399.99 (on sale) Panasonic GH4 still/video camera plus a $13 Canon FD to micro 4/3 lens adapter and an inexpensive ~$45 Canon FD 28mm f2.8 lens like this one to get started.

This camera will give you much higher quality results than any camcorder in this price range.

Hope this is helpful and Happy New Year!

Bill

Hybrid Camera Revolution

Participant

While the GH4 is an excellent camera, you may find a traditional video camera more usable unless you're already familiar with SLRs.