Storing MXF clips

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi, I'm new to solid state cams – bought the Canon XF100 – How do the pro's get around the fact that when you store the clips in a folder on the PC, you cant see a pic/icon but merely the Icon of the software (ie the VLC "cone"?

Participant

its because your computer is set to use VLC as the primary tool to play the clip in that format by your computer  if you have played back your footage using VLC the pc automatically assumes that VLC is the proper tool to play the footage. If you edit on the same computer your NLE should not have any problem with this. My computer sees AVCHD files in my computer as windows media file because I installed the the codecs to allow the computer to play the files.

Participant

make sure you make every file name different, and create file foldwers by left clicking on the mouse and select make new file you can do as many files as you like, when you import new footage into your computer, create a new folder with the name of the project you are working on and store the footage in that file. this will allow you to keep all your footage organized by job and give you fewer file to pick from when you stare to edit. Keep in mind, HD cameras files are huge, I have taken to loading my new files into my external hard drive, since I can pull them up in my NLE easily. This also saves room in my main hard drive.  Hope this helps.

Participant

Our workflow goes something like this: