starting a production company

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey,

I have been working on started a video production company for 6 months.  After starting in the industry 11 or 12 years ago.  I am very short of funds and therefore I have only invested in a IMac and software so far.  

My best friend wants to purchase a couple of cameras and accessories looking to spend between 2,500 and 5,000 $…. He has no knowledge of videography or photography and thinks it will be fun to make professional music videos and record live bands.

This obviously is perfect for me to gain access to equipment I can't currently afford and I am currently researching all equipment due to my knowledge and he is trusting me on every issue.  So to be fair to him and protect myself should him or I at some point wants to part ways, how should I approach my business relationship with him.  Does he become a co-owner/partner or what other options are there.  I guess he could be a silent partner however I am not crazy about him theoretically making decisions in the future with no knowledge of the business or industry.  Currently I am doing some freelance editing and I wasn't planning on giving him any of that money since I have put out way more than I have made through the computer.