Sound Mixing Lessons for Videomakers/Editors

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Employment Sound Mixing Lessons for Videomakers/Editors

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author

Hello videomakers,

I’m offering one-on-one online Skype lessons to up-skill video editors in the area of sound editing and mixing.

I’m a sound editor and sound mixer from Wellington, New Zealand with over 15 years experience in the advertising and film industries working with clients such as Peter Jackson’s Wingnut Films (Music Editing for The Hobbit – The Battle of the Five Armies), Saatchi and Saatchi, Young and Rubicam and Nickelodeon. I worked for ten years at a leading audio post-production studio where I was senior audio engineer and composer before going freelance.

I also teach film sound design at the New Zealand Film and Television School. My full CV and credits list are available on my website here: http://www.jeremycullen.com

In the last few years as the industry has changed I’ve noticed video editors are increasingly being asked to deliver a sound mix as well. While I would always advocate hiring a sound post-production expert for your final audio output, sometimes due to budget and deadline constraints this is not possible. Alternatively, you may wish to handle the sound editing/tracklay yourself and hand your work over to a studio or professional sound mixer to do the final polish and mix.

So how can you deliver the best quality final audio output from your video editing platform?

What are the principles of great sound mixing and how can video editors use these principles to deliver better audio for their clients, and potentially provide more services ie. billable hours?