Solution for video editing with only 1 HDD and 1 SSD

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Solution for video editing with only 1 HDD and 1 SSD

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hi,

I have just purchased a SSD disk recently to enhance the performance of my PC for video editing tasks.

At the moment I use this for video editing:
      – Intel Pentium CPU G3220, 3 Ghz
      – WD5000AAKX 500 GB (Blue, 16 MB Cache)
      – Intel(R) HD Graphics
      – 4 GB RAM

I have a chance to upgrade to the following:
      – Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz
      – WD10EZEX 1TB (Blue, 1000GB 64MB cache)
      – Intel(R) HD Graphics
      – Samsung 850 Pro, 256 GB
      – 20 GB RAM

My video editing comprises of shorter films (up to 5 minutes, shot in Nikon D750, 1080p) in HitFilm 4 with only a few effects. But I am a beginner eager to do more complex things in the future and start using Adobe Premiere Pro and moving to creating music videos for example.

My issue here is not that my PC is obviously shit:) but how to make the best of it for video editing. I see that many people use at least 3-4 disks for video editing, but that will not be my case, unfortunately.

My questions are:
      1) Should I go with SSD as a main disk and HDD as a scratch disk or vice versa?
      2) Would partitioning any of the disks result in any performance benefits (if yes, what would be best to do?) I ask this second question because perhaps i could “artifically” create 2 (or more) “disks” out of what I already have. No?:)

Thank you very much for your recommendations and help!