Slider or Shoulder Mount?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

I’m a relative newbie to the video world but am at the point where I feel like I’m in need of some more dynamic, moving shots. I have been considering getting something like a slider.

However, all the online information I can find to read and videos on YouTube are about sliders for use with DSLRS, and my camera (AF100) is a dedicated video camera and much larger than a DSLR. Are sliders used with these too?

Another question: because the electronics of my camera don’t ‘talk’ to my lenses, I have no image stabilisation while filming. Does this mean opting for a shoulder mount to get shots with more movement would be a bit disastrous?

Thanks so much for any tips!!

Participant

How about a bit more information. What are you shooting? What problem(s) specifically are you trying to solve with a slider? Would a steady-cam type device give you greater stability, etc. There are a great many tools on the market the facilitate camera movement, but most are suitable for very specific situations.

Hi Jack – thanks for the reply. Currently I’m mostly shooting short online videos featuring single interviewees (eg craftspeople and producers) talking about their work, and overly of them working, their products, their surroundings.
    I’m trying to give them a modern feel, with some short DOF and other arty shots, and maybe some interesting colour grading. I just think my 100% tripod shots look a bit boring after a while. Any ideas?

Participant

Hi sabot-