Shutter speed/angle

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

I am a producer not a professional camera person. I was recently shooting a taster tape documentary I'm making on 1/25 and by mistake the speed slipped to 180 degrees and I didn't notcie till later…. Playing back on the camera the footage looked fine, but on my alptop footage was jolting, as if camera speed was too slow. Is this a complete disaster or something that can be changed in the edit πŸ™ I was shooting for European settings/pal.

Thanks, and  apologies for lack of camera knowledge…but that's why I am asking here. I just have gotten worried because I google probelm..and I read that 180 degrees is 1/24 second which is for non european shoots? I know about shutter speeds, but not very knolwedgle about angles. The camera was set to pal setting etc. Thanks for any advise to my confusion…:) Jules   

Participant

Google "shutter speed vs angle" for several very good articles that will explain this, including one that appears in Videomaker Magazine.

Participant

Don't confuse "shutter angle" (or shutter speed) with frame rate. You mentioned you were shooting for "European settings/pal."  The PAL format specifies a frame rate of 25 frames per second (fps); U.S. (NTSC or ATSC standard) specifies 30 fps.  If "laptop footage was jolting, as if camera speed was too slow…" I suspect this was a mis-match between the frame rate the footage was shot and the rate it was played back.  You didn't specify if you were viewing the footage in a media player or in an editor – any professional editing software should be able to convert whatever frame rate the footage was shot into whatever rate your final project needs.