Selective Copy of AVCHD Files?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Is there a way to safely control which AVCHD files are copied from an SD Card to an editing computer?

I have been shooting AVCHD (on a Panasonic AC130) for about three months. Up to now, I have simply copied the entire AVCHD folder structure oover to my computer, and I then import the shots I need into Premiere Pro. All of the shots on the card, even those I don't import into Premiere Pro, are on my computer, and ultimately my backup media.

I just finished a shoot with a lot of retakes (a lot of retakes!), and I'd like to copy only the good takes over to my editing computer. I know that I can't simply grab the MTS files of the good takes–my question is, how can I selectively copy only the good ones? Is there a Windows app that will do that? Some other way?  I don't want to transcode, since my computer works well with AVCHD, and I'd like to avoid the compression cycle.

Thanks for your help.

Participant

My camera, a sony AX2000 came with software that allows me to preview all the seperate files and select the ones I want before downloading to my computer. I know this does not help you but does Panasonic have similar software?

Here is another good approach I found:

Adobe Prelude (part of the CC suite) can selectively ingest (copy) MTS files and their supporting files, all in the required folder structure. It also has some other handy features I knew nothing about, including copying to a backup location as it ingests. Always wondered if the program was of any use–now I know.

The issue doesn't come up in FCP, since it doesn't work in AVCHD as a native format. Instead, it transcodes to its native format.

Participant

I have CS 5.5 I never used Prelude let alone even know if I got it. I use Premier Pro, After Effects and Audition for disks. Glad my comments on included software for a camera helped you.