Rolling shutter

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

Under what circumstances does one encounter the dreaded " rolling shutter "? Is it used exclusively with single sensor cameras, or do some mfgrs use it with 3 chip cameras? Is it used with CMOS chips only, or is it also used with CCD sensor cameras? Is there any way to overcome the motion distortion imparted by rolling shutter cameras?

And while we're at it . . . . how do CMOS sensors compare with CCD sensors other than cost?

Rick Crampton

Participant

I have no direct experience with CMOS, my knowledge consists of only articles that I've read and video clips that I've seen. CMOS does tend to be cheaper and uses less power than CCD which will increase battery life, which from what I've read are it's only advantages. The number of sensors has no bearing on rolling shutter, it's the type of sensor. CCDs don't have it but CMOS does. A CCD sensor captures each frame (every scan line) all at once like a still camera. Although an interlaced camcorder will scan two different "fields" per frame, the odd numbered lines first and the even ones second. (The reason for this dates back to when TV was being invented but I won't go into that now.) This amounts to sixty half frames per second which essentially combine to form thirty frames per second. When there's fast motion, say a passing car, this will give you something like motion blur. If you freeze frame on it you will see two ghost-like images of the car, one where it was in the first field and the other where it moved to in the next sixtith of a second for the second field. When seen in motion it is not that noticeable but progressive scan (indicated by the P after the frame rate) camcorders don't have this problem which is why serious videograpers seek it out. CMOS is progressive but it doesn't scan all lines at once, instead it scans one line at a time seperately, one after the other so when that car passes by the camera the roof will appear on the right side of the