Rendering Video from Two Cameras

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I'm a newbie to video production and technique. I'm doing some research and I can't seem to find what I'm looking for – probably because i don't know the right terms to describe it. I hope someone can point me in the right direction – Google and other sources have not led me there…

If I have two video cameras shooting the same subject from two seperate angles, such as a human face being shot from the front-left and the other from the front-right, I know that there must be some way to render a type of stereoscopic video as if the video were shot with one camera directly in front of the subject. What is the terminology for this, and where can I read about what is required to do such rendering?

Stereoscopic rendering seems to be mainly about 3D video, and that is not what I am after – I just want to research techniquest to render a video that is apparently shot with one camera directly in front of a subject, when in fact it is shot by a cameras on either side of the subject. Any suggestions? Thanks so much!

Participant

Don't quite understand what you are after.  Why not just put one camera in  front of your subject if that is the effect you are looking for?

I don't know of any current technology that can do what you want. I assume you can't get a camera directly in front of your subject. I'd suggest getting one camera as close to center as you can, and go with that. Most books recommend shooting subject somewhat off center. With the right lighting (key light on the short side of the face, fill on the long), it looks more dimensional.

I'm not sure why you are going at it this way. If your editing machine can do it, just put them side by side and merge them til you get half and half.