Recording Audio on Weddings

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Im a beginner on shooting Video and im still in the process of learning. I would like to ask if its right for me to just use my separate Audio Recorder (Zoom, H4N) on recording audio on weddings? I know my cameras (Panasonic HMC150pj and 60D with Mic) will also record audio but when i stop recording video to change angle and footage the audio stops along with the video recording. so is it just right for me to record all audio on a separate audio recorder (Zoom H4N) and just use the audio that was recorded on my cameras to sync the video footages to what I recorded  separately?

voodeuxvoodeux
      Participant

Welcome to the wild world of live production. Weddings present a unique challenge for audio, especially for DSLR shooters. Depending on the venue, you might find that different approaches suit your needs best.

For example, on a typical church wedding, I employ 3 or 4 audio sources:

1) iRiver or Zoom H1 on groom (with lav mic)

2) wireless mic on officiant (when they allow it)

3) audio recorder on podium

4) audio recorder for musicians (piano, choir, organ, etc).

Church weddings are usually 2 camera shoots (or more), so I will split these duties between the videographers. The reason I like a wireless on the officiant, is that they talk 90% of the ceremony, and I can monitor the sound throughout. I also have a 'sneak listen' to when things are about to start.

If you have access to a sound board, then a Zoom H4 might come in handy, but without being able to monitor and test it, you're flying blind.

Outdoor/hotel weddings (or any wedding with a PA and board op), I'll still do steps 1 and 2, but also plug a audio recorder into the board, and sound check before the ceremony starts. Dont risk being at the mercy of a DJ's system for your sole source of audio. I guarantee it, you will eventually get burned.