Question on Dell Precision Workstation

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello all!

I'm new here – great to be a part of videomakers!

I am about to purchase a new computer to do all of my video-editing on. I edit using Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 8.0. I will be editing a lot of green screen footage, some HD footage too, so the file sizes are pretty hefty! The laptop I currently have, a Dell Inspiron with an i5 and 4 GB RAM, is CONSTANTLY lagging, hanging up in the middle of rendering, overheating, and just not doing the job.

I'm currently looking at purchasing a Dell Precision T3600 from here:

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?oc=swct36m&model_id=precision-t3600&c=us&l=en&s=bsd&cs=04&link_number=29296792

This computer seems to fit my needs. I am only going to be using this computer for editing/rendering my videos, nothing else. I'm a total noob when it comes to computer hardware; I've researched it for several hours, but still have much to learn.

I would be extremely grateful if anyone could help me out with the following question:

My budget is approximately $1200. I can upgrade this T3600 Workstation a bit, i.e. upgrading to a better CPU OR to a better graphics card, but probably not both. My options are the following:

1) Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-1607 (Four Core, 3.0GHz, 10M) [add $32.20] with NVIDIA® Quadro® K600, 1GB, 1 DP & 1 DVI-I (DP-DVI & DVI-VGA adapters) [add $77.00]

2) Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-1607 (Four Core, 3.0GHz, 10M) [add $32.20] with Dual NVIDIA® Quadro® K600, 1GB, 2 cards w/ 1 DP & 1 DVI-I each, (2 DP-DVI & 2 DVI-VGA adapters) [add $206.50]

3) Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-1620 (Four Core 3.6GHz, 10M, Turbo) [add $175.70] with NVIDIA® Quadro® K600, 1GB, 1 DP & 1 DVI-I (DP-DVI & DVI-VGA adapters) [add $77.00]

4) Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-1607 (Four Core, 3.0GHz, 10M) [add $32.20] with 1.0GB NVIDIA® Quadro® 2000, Dual MON, 2 DP & 1 DVI [add $346.50]