Professional Camcorder vs DSLR

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

So I am a recent journalism graduate and have used both DSLR and professional camcorders for various projects. However, I’ve recently taken a job filming sailing videos in the SF Bay. I shot one video with my DSLR (Nikon D3200 with a Tamron 17-50mm lens). Needless to say I ran into some difficulties from stabilization, color and getting close-up shots. The closest I am able to get to the sail boats is 20-30 yards.

With that being said, I do some still photography and other videos I’m working on are much easier shooting subjects (events, documentary style videos).

Is it worth it for me to invest in a professional camcorder – there’s the obvious benefit of ergonomics especially filming from a boat – or just upgrade my current camera?

This is my first time posting on this site as well.

Participant

Try a Lumix FZ80 bridge camera and a decent tripod. It is lightweight, can shoot 4K video or AVCHD at 1080P HD, has continuous silent autofocus, has an 80mm to 1200mm zoom lens, is completely auto in video mode to get the best lighting available, can even snap pics during shooting of the video. This has features no dslr or pro video camera has. Cost is $400 new or about $325 used.

Participant

Proper camcorders are easier to hold, easier to do clever stuff on, have decent audio and lots of other differences, You need a lens that stays in focus as you zoom – photo type lenses don’t! You probably need a 17:1 or greater zoom which will be expensive, With a proper servo, and probably zoom demand for the tripod, which needs a decent pro grade head so your panning and tilting are silky smooth. What is your budget?

Cheap tripods and heads mean long lens work is really compromised. It’s similar to shooting football from the stands – you need proper kit.

Participant