You're using a beta version of our new web site.

Problems exporting videos from SD card to Mac

Home Forums General Video and Film Discussion Problems exporting videos from SD card to Mac

This topic contains 1 reply, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  soysaltine 1 month, 4 weeks ago.

• Author

Michaela

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to video making but I have been having a technical problem that I can't find a solution to and would love any help with this. Basically, when I record a video through my camera (Canon XA10) and the insert the SD card in my MAC, the video files do not show like they would normally do. I have to click on a folder called Private and then on something that looks like a video file called AVCHD. Once I open this, all the video files show, but I cannot scroll properly and I cannot drag and drop the videos into my computer. The only way I can put a video on a computer is if I open it in a QuickTime and then in File select Save as or Export. If I do this, the files that get saved on the Mac have small glitches in them which is relaly annoying. There are no glitches if I play the video directly from the SD card, so somehting must be happening when I am saving the videos. I tried to get the videos today on a Windows computer and I had no problems. I could see a list of videos straight away and I had no problem copying the video in the computer. Does someone work with a Mac and has the same problem? Is there any way to get the SD card showing the videos in the 'normal' way? It only happens when recorded on my video camera. If I record something on my DSLR I can see videos without a problem and I can drag and drop them without a problem. Can this be a problem witht he formating of the SD card or something like that?

Thank you very much for any help!

soysaltine