Pricing Advice

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Hello,

I am just getting started with my videography buisness and Im not sure what I should charge people. I dont want to overcharge people but I dont want to be selling myself short either. Is there any sort of standard for this sort of stuff? I shoot with a cannon 7D and I have a zoom H5N a light a tripod and glidecam. 

Thanks!

Participant

A good starting place for figuring out what to charge is "cost," rather than "what am I worth." In other words, what are the costs associated with my video business — insurance, travel (including mileage, depreciation and maintainance) phone, web, advertising, memberships, etc., — you get the idea.

Then consider how many shoots/jobs you think you might reasonably have in a year. I know you're just starting out, but make a rough guess — a couple of weddings, maybe a High School event, three or four photo montages and a handful of DVD duplications. Ten or twelve all told for your first year.

So, you have to cover all your costs from those 10-12 jobs. Right away your going to be charging $20-30 an hour for your work. Then figure in what you think is a good begining salary for yourself; you're starting out, so lets say $25 per hour, a lot more than you can make at McDonalds! So now your charging somewhere in the neighborhood of $50 per hour, but you haven't added in anything for the business — i.e., a "salary," if you like, so the business can grow, new equitment can be purchases, etc. I'd add at least 20% of the total for this. So now you're up to $60 an hour; you're paying yourself a modest hourly wage, providing the begining of a growth fund, and covering all your costs.

Do I think this is low-ball? Well it certainly is in many markets and I would never charge this little, but for someone just starting out it's probably o.k. Tinker with what you think you should be getting for an hourly salary; just be sure that your costs are included first.