Pitching video ideas to organisations

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Hi – I'm just getting started in freelance videography and I have a question about producing multiple versions of a project (for different organisations) from the same footage.

I'm based in Australia, in case that makes any difference.

My questions are:

a) Would most organisations let me keep copyright of the vision I shoot for their project (should I expect/demand this)?

b) Do you think it would put an organisation off buying a video from me if they knew another org. was showing one that I'd made with very similar shots/interview grabs in it?  If so, am I obliged to tell them about the other video?

c) If I have an idea for a video I think a particular organisation might like, should I expect any commitment from them before I make it (or do I just make it, then see if they want to buy it when it's finished)?

Thanks heaps for any tips or advice!

Participant

There's no "right" answer to your questions: it's a matter of business ethics and contracts. You must sit down with a client and work out who-owns what and how what you shoot can be used.

For example, if you're shooting "B" roll footage of the Great Barrier Reef, a client might be perfectly amenable to having you use that footage on another project. Or they might say it's o.k. but expect you to pay a royalty to them — after all, you did shoot it on their time.

The important thing is to discuss this up front with your client and incorporate the details very specifically into your contract. No room for misunderstandings, nothing behind the client's back.