Pano HC-WXF991K vs Sony FDR-AX53

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I always cringe when I see a subject like this….there is so much info available on most cameras but I still cannot decide. I no longer see official reviews of cameras like this even on the higher end like these.

I have already decided for a variety of reasons (cost, record limit, etc.) I do not want to use a GH4 or other mirrorless or DSLR model. I have a Nikon that I primarily use for images but also use at times for video when fast focus is not needed and the time limit is not an issue. But I want a camcorder to replace my old HV20 for those times when I want to just shoot and not worry about it. Fast focus, good quality, no time limit, etc.

I will probably shoot in 4K as my master file and then will want to transcode quickly to 1080P for ease of viewing. I edit in Premiere Pro but no longer edit and master every single video.
      I would say I am a fairly advanced photographer but usually use my camcorder in a point and shoot manner with just limited audio level adjustment although that might change. My subjects are family events,some local concerts, travel, etc.

I was originally concerned about XAVC-S and how difficult it might be to deal with but others have educated me that it is not much of an issue anymore. Hopefully that remains the case.

I am well aware of the feature differences (twin camera on pano(might use) in-camera editing on pano (I will not use), dual recording on Sony (4K and HD…but the HD is not 1080P so won’t use), All of these features to me do not push me to one or the other.

This forum has so many knowledgeable members., I am interested in any experiences forum members have with either camera and things they like or don’t like after using. I wish Videomaker had reviewed either of these!!!