Panasonic AJ-PX270 or Sony PXW-X180?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I need advice on what camera to purchase. My choices are the Panasonic AJ-PX270 or the Sony PXW-X180 (to be released in August).

I’m a second year film student who has shot several shorts and own a Canon 60D. I want a prosumer video camera for run-n-gun, documentary, and event videos.

My budget allows me to spend about $6,000 for a camera. I have other money budgeted for other equipment. I’m looking down the road to have a professional camera to work with now and later to make money with.

I’ve done my research but would like the thoughts of experienced and professional video shooters on these two cameras. Thanks.

John

Participant

I would go with the AJ-PX270. B&H has a great $500 off promotion that shows up after you add to cart ($5249). This early bird deal may be due to fact Panasonic made an odd choice to go with the older battery type and the px270 currently lacks full 24/30p support for the LongGOP compression settings. The only other complaint I have is the power draw is insane. The D54 batteries last approx 60-80mins.

I picked up the camera thinking I could fly under the radar until Panasonic released the update, however, I ended up getting multiple requests for 24p for long 15+hour shoots where its not practical to shoot in Intra100.

The PX270 plus two 64gb P2 cards and 4 used CGA-D54 batteries should be a nice fit for your budget.

Participant