Opinions on my short summer/nature video?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      I've just made a short kinda summer/nature video and would like some feedback, advice and opinions.
      I love making videos and want to grow and grow with it, so anything would be greatly appreciated. It's nothing amazing, i'm no expert.. but I would like to be one day!

If anyone's interested – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUNaFZAB1eI

Participant

Hey,

Nice work indeed. Edit is great and the music choice really lends itself to the piece.

I guess my only real feedback is in terms of the font style/colour.

I would recommend moving away from text outlines. I think you should remove the dark grey/black outline and try a few font colours that compliment the background, but don't necessarily blend into it.

Also, it doesn’t need to be that size, nor in the middle. Try moving it to a corner or offsetting it a little at a smaller size. That might generate some intrigue, which is exactly what the entire video did for me. Just my opinion of course so you need not take it as a fact J.

Also I like how short it is. Some people would have made this same video but it would have been 3 to 4 minutes long. Short and sweet and trim the fat.

Again … Nice work

Participant

Hi happyfrogs44,

You are a brave videographer indeed to invite opinions of a video on a forum! However, it is also a great way to get better at your craft so I congratulate you.

I would also second John's opinion. A solid yellow font is an odd choice for the flow of your video and outlined text, unless for a children's television show or for a carnival, should always be avoided. It tends to look like the default text option in Final Cut Pro. I would also encourage you to use a thinner, whispier font placed in the lower third of your screen. I think that would lend itself well to the editing style and musical feel of your piece.