Noobie question on IPS resolution

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      sciss

Hi there,

I’m new to this forum (I hope I picked the right one). I’m an artist working with digital media, and while I’m quite tech savvy, I have not much knowledge about particular video technologies.

I am looking for miniature displays that can drive full HD coming from a Raspberry Pi via HDMI, and so I found this thing called IPS field monitor. At first I was happy seeing that from 7″ on, you get affordable screens with 1920 x 1080 or 1920 x 1200 pixels resolution. E.g. Aputure Vs-2 – https://www.amazon.com/Aputure-VS-2FineHD-VS-2-Monitor-Black/dp/B01C77ZRHE/

That selling pitch on Amazon says

> one of the best of 7” field monitor in the market. It packs 2.3 million pixels in its 7 inch display area – twice as many pixels as that of a 1280 x 800 resolution screen.

Now… Looking at the official specs here – http://www.aputure.com/V-Screen-VS-2-Spec

> Resolution: 1,024*600 display, supports up to 1,920*1,080 input

It seems it’s all one big lie, reminds me actually of the bullshit talk with audio amplifiers which are announced with totally fictional power specs.

So – is this a thing with all these devices (Bestview S7, LILLIPUT Q5 (much more expensive), Feelworld FW760 etc.)? Are are all of them bullshitting about the actual LCD native resolution? Or is there a device that actually maps 1920 x 1080 digital pixels to 1920 x 1080 actual LCD pixels? Which one?

Thanks!

.h.h.

sciss

Ok, so after more research, I found the discrepancy is because of old vs. new model. The new model VS-2 FineHD seems to have 2.3 mio actual pixels with 323ppi.

So the question then is if anyone can recommend one model over the other. For my application I don’t need spectral analysis and all that stuff, but a simple dot-to-dot function with zero OSD.

– Neewer NW-760, 7″; 160 EUR; people say the software is shit
      – Bestview S7, 7″; 215 EUR
      – Lilliput A7, 7″; 310 EUR