Noob – simultaneous multi HD web cam recording on Mac?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Noob – simultaneous multi HD web cam recording on Mac?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Yep I'm a stone noob – hope y'all don't mind me pickin' brains here…?

So I need to record a guitar video of myself with at least 2 web HD webcams simultaneously recording video to be edited later. 

At the same time I'll be recording audio with Logic X, that's one area where I'm not a noob.

Oh yeah, another part of the mandate is to keep the budget as low as possible. 

So with all lthat in mind, ya got any suggestions for cameras to purchase and video recording software to use?

THANKS!

Participant

I should've also mentioned my preference for cameras that can work well in low light, and how desirable it would be to control the Mac software from my iPad2.

Participant

[11 days of silence]

Well in that case does anyone have a suggestion for a forum where I could get answers to questions like these? Having a hard time finding one.

Participant

Jeebs,

Have you checked that your Mac can actually take signals from 2 web cams?

It probably can't. So start with a Mac Forum, try the Apple website.

Perhaps some folks here did as I did, looked at your posting and thought it was odd you'd need two video feeds and an audio feed to, we'd have to assume, stream HD, on the web..all the while live mixing your two video feeds while you play guitar. If that's what you really want to do then start with finding a stream service and explain to them what you want to do. They'll be able to explain which software and additional hardware you'll need to become a broadcaster. 

have fun

Participant

Thanks for the reply Bruce,

I have seen talk but but not reliable confirmation that 2 USB cameras could be recorded on a Mac.  In fact Scopebox Mac software touts it: