Noise Reduction

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

Hi

do you know how to reduce the noise from a video in FCP X?

I tried different solutions: The neat plugin – the result was not good

i downloaded the trial version of the denoiser II from Red Giant but it seems that it doesn't work in FC version 10.0.7.

Any solutions?

What about other softwares such as Davinci Resolve or After Effects? Do they provide noise reduction effects?

Any suggestion is appreciated…

Thanks
      PaoloG

Participant

Adobe audio Soundbooth may be worth a try.  You don't mention what kind of noise you want to reduce.  I would also explore more options in FCP.  I know Adobe Premiere Pro hs some pretty good audio tools.  I would expect something similar in FCP.  Good luck!

Sorry,

I meant video noise, not audio….. 

I know how to reduce audio noise… i am an audio editor.

I am struggling though with video noise and as i said i tried different solutions with little or no benefits.

Thanks

PaoloG

Participant

Without knowing exactly what you're experiencing, it's difficult to say.  Is there an "Effects" pallette in FCP X?  I would start there and look for "Video Effects" and then start experimenting.  In Adobe Premiere CS5, there's an "Noise & Grain" folder that you can choose a number of fixes.  I'm wondering if FCP has something very similar?

Hi

nope. FC PRo X does not have any noise reduction effects…. This is why i was looking for some plug ins. I wasn't able to find any good one… or at least one that could help me in my project.

I will upload the file and show you what i mean

Thanks

PaoloG

Participant

If the neat video plug-in didn't work then you need to do a re-shoot. I use Neat Video for all of my videos that need noise reduction and there is literally no better program than that. If it can't fix your problem then you need to fix your shooting at the source because Neat is one hell of a powerful program!

Tyler