New Video Editor Looking To Get Better!

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey all!

Name's Travis and in the past I have dabbled with video editing here and there via a video game podcast I was a part of for a few years. I've recently started a new job (hired on as a web developer), but after the bosses discovering some video work I've completed in the past, I'm officially their Audio/Video Director.  I've been doing video "professionally" for 2 months now.

I enjoy the videos I have finished for the company fairly well, but I'd love some outside constructive advice regarding the work I've wrapped to date. (The company is technically a start-up that began over a year ago, so they will soon start to pour more money into better cameras and equipment.) Videos will be linked out below.  Also, I edit in Adobe Premiere Pro CS6.

Thanks for the advice, in advance!

Participant

Nice work.  Every videographer has a different perspective, so my advice is purely subjective.  I thought the lighting in your videos could be enhanced…whether by adding lighting or filtering during post.

Congratulations on your new job!

Very cool work Travis.

Nicely composed shots on the whole, and I especially loved the flying shots in the Wonder Works video. Seems like you really like editing with music, my personal taste is a little smoother between VO and music. I had to do a double take to match the VO with Marshall, though I can imagine the constraints you had there. Across all your videos I’d take a close look at the focus (especially the interviews) and white balance, in the cooking class video, some of the food and skin tones look a little unnatural.

Keep up the good work, and it’ll be exciting to see what you can do with more funds and support. Happy shooting, editing and audio-ing.

Participant

Thanks, gents.