New to filming, need help

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello everyone – I am new to filming and my wife and I have been going on some rather expensive hunting trips.  I now realize that I should be filming these.  We usually go one at a time so I figured that I could film her while she hunts and then switch.  What kind of gear would you recommend for a good picture and stability in tuff terrain?  Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.

Participant

Depends on several things. I worked in the hunting industry for quite a while, still do part time and have filmed many hunts from AK to the Midwest. If your hunting wide open areas and taking rifle range shots your lense choice may be different than what you might want for say bowhunting the midwest for whitetails. For an all around camera the Sony NX-70 is a good tough camera that will survive getting wet and in those dusty western early seasons. Then of course there is price.

I prefer something I can adapt with one to two lenses but that might be more than what you want to get into as it incorporates a lot of manual function. It never hurts to have a POV cam, so since its season right now, I'd get into a Gopro or Sony action cam. While your out trying to capture some footage with it and thinking about a main camera, it might draw your attention to just what you are actually looking for and give you some insight as to how much you want to get invlolved with editing as well. That information could be helpful. 

But to better help you with your question we'd need a bit more information. Like are you more of a bowhunter or a rifle hunter? Just big game or duck and other things?

Woody

Participant

First, thank you for the comment. It will be rifle hunting big game.  We have a kodiak bear and dall sheep hunt approaching.  I have time but I don't want to procrastinate.