New here: AVCHD question

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      reddmann
      Participant

Hello, everyone. I've been reading through some of the forums, and I must say, there's a wealth of info here. I'm new to video, and I have a question concerning avchd. I have a canon vixia hf m500. My computer is windows 7, 64 bit, 3.2g AMD Athlon 2 x4 650 processor, 8 gigs ram. I have premiere pro cs6. I read somewhere that, when shooting 1920×1080 30Psf, my video is progressive but wrapped in a 60i container. The article went on to say that I could use certain software to unwrap my progressive video before editing with premiere in order to preserve full quality. My question is; is this really necessary to preserve quality? Can't I just edit the MTS files in premiere and then save as a progressive file without quality loss? If so, should i render as h.264 for web viewing? And if not, does anyone know the specific software that I need to rewrap these files before editing? Ok, that was more than one question, and I'm sure I'll have plenty more to follow. Thanks to anyone in advance.

Barry
      Participant

Hi reddman

60i means 60 frames per second interlaced.  Interlaced means it takes 2 frames to create one frame.

So you end up with 30 Frames Per Second of FPS.   

You are correct.  When You export the finished project,  pick H.264 and below that you can pick from a hundred formats of various qualities. It has settings for Youtube and Vimeo and so many others.

it usually goes to progressive automatically without any loss in quality.  The quality comes from the settings you pick in the dropdown.

But for the internet, Using H.264 seems to be the standard.

Feel free to play with the software and see what comes out.

If you have any other questions let me know

Have fun

Barry

reddmann
      Participant

Thanks, Barry. That helps a lot. I'm sure ill have many more questions. Thanks again.

Barry
      Participant

You are very welcome reddmann,