New Guy Trying to Learn- 30 or 60fps?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hey guys, my name is Jay and I’m new to this website and forum. I have been making my own videos for 10-12 years and have recently decided to form an LLC and start my own production company to make wedding videos. I already have 2 booked in October and have possibly 3 or 4 more for next year. I have only been an official LLC for about 2 months now and haven’t really advertised at all, I just have a good friend who is a really good wedding photographer. I feel like I am off to a good start, but I have a lot to learn before October! I have never had any kind of classes or training of any kind, I have just learned what I know on my own from google or youtube. I want to know more about what I am doing to be able to produce a quality product. I will be videoing with a friend and editing myself using a Macbook Pro with FCPX. I just purchased a lot of camera gear including a Sony HXR-NX3/1 w/ a lot of audio gear, tripod, monopod, and Devin Graham Glidecam. I am looking to achieve a cinematic look with my videos. I want to have all the basics covered and then build on that knowledge. I have searched for the answer to this question, but most of what I have found is old info or doesn’t relate directly to my situation. Knowing what you know now, what video format should I be using and why? Here are my choices on my camera:
      1080/60i FX
      1080/60i FH
      1080/60i HQ
      1080/60i LP
      1080/60p PS
      720/60p FX
      720/60p FH
      720/60p HQ
      1080/30p FX
      1080/30p FH
      1080/24p FX
      1080/24p FH

Thanks for any help!

Jay,
      I would definitely go with the highest quality (1080) and since you are looking for a cinematic look…. 24fps since this is what is used in cinemas…

Then the question becomes Interlaced (I) or Progressive (P)

I looked into this recently (for streaming video) and found this article….