New and need help for son with Autism

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

I think I posted this originally in the wrong area, and for that I apologize.

Hello Everyone !

As I said in the subject heading, I am new here(and in the field) and need some help for my son(single dad, he is 24), who has Autism. My reason for seeking help here is that given the relative lack of opportunities for a person with Autism to have a fulfilling life and employment career, I have thought about starting him in his own video production business, ultimately with the goal of selling his finished work. Another goal is to provide a beacon of hope, perhaps be an inspiration for other families who have a special needs person in their lives, as we are going to catalog every step in our journey. I will not go into details here, but I do believe there is a niche in which he is highly interested, which has some possibilities.
      I am a complete novice, and as with most things in his life, I will be there to teach him and help him along the way. As a newbie, I have many questions, which I am sure to most if not all of you will be elementary in nature, and I ask your forgiveness in advance, but his challenges are my challenges, and I learned a long time ago that breaking things down into small steps, is for him, the most productive way to learn a new skill. A quick word about my son, he takes to technology VERY well. I am not saying he is a savant, but sometimes he does make me wonder. Sorry for the rather long introduction.