Need help with new Go Pro 3+ Black settings

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi guys,

Hoping someone can help me here. I am heading to New Zealand for 5 weeks in just over a week. We got a Gro Pro Hero 3+ Black for our trip as we are hoping to be pretty active.

I have very little experience in choosing settings for shooting video but some of the footage we will be taking will need to be nailed 1st time.

Can anyone recommend settings for the following activities :

Bungy jumping

Shark cage diving

Swimming with dolphins

Shotover jet boat

General hiking

Driving in car with mounted on dashboard.

Im sure this has already been covered elsewhere but would appreciate having some personal advice as I have a week to get good at this! lol

Much appreciated

Graeme

Participant

http://goprouser.freeforums.org

Generally THE goto GoPro setting for any action is 1080 at 60 fps … in order to reduce jello and skewing.

Participant

The one thing you might want to change is your field of view. The WIDE or Super1080 settings are very wide … great for underwater and "over the shoulders" for things like jet ski's, biking etc. But for dashboard and hiking shots it might be too wide. You might want to consider the Medium view. NOTE that using the free GoPro CineForm software you can remove any distortion.

Do NOT use the Spot Meter setting … it's very specific.

ProTune and RAW White Balance give you the most flexibility in post production … the files will be very flat so that contrast and saturation and color balance can be set later. Your files will be over twice as large … a good thing … more information … if you have the storage space. Make sure you have extra BATTERIES and a Car Charger. I like to use a solar charger also if I'm going to be in a remote area. Body or Head mounts are great for a lot of those activities. Use a Floaty back if you are around water.