Need Help Filming Dice On Craps Table For Slo-Mo Analysis

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Cameras and Camcorders ActionCams Need Help Filming Dice On Craps Table For Slo-Mo Analysis

Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello,  Thank you for allowing me to join your website, as I see it is loaded with tons of information and knowledgeable people.

Secondly, thank you for reading my question.  I'm new to the video arena, and I'm searching for a camera solution that will enable me to record and play-back in slow-motion, two dice as they fly through the air and land on a craps table. I'd like to be able to analyze the flight of the dice, their rotation, their positioning in relation to the deck (top of the table), as well as see how they react once they land onto the table.

It was suggested to me that the Casio EX-ZR1000 would do the trick; however I am looking for some expert opinions and ideas. I also see that the EX-ZR1000 isn't available in the USA, for some reason, and the "normal" Retail is ~$350, but now sellers are getting up to triple that.  I guess it's due to supply/demand nonsense.

My budget is ~$1500 – $2000, and slightly over that if needed, for the right gear. I hope you can assist me.

Thanks again, I really appreciate your time and help.    BigBen

Participant

You need a camera that you can shoot high frame rates for super slow motion. The Sony FS-700U can shoot at  960 frames per second but is priced at $7499.00 without a lens.   What you may want to do is rent one for a couple of days. 

Hi Ben,

Cville is right in that you need a camera that can shoot high frame rates.  But it also depends on how slow you want it.  For under $2000, you can get a Sony HXR-NX30U, which can shoot at 60 progressive frames per second.  You can play that at 40% speed and still have 24p video.  If 40% is slow enough for you, then the NX30U would be a good camera for you.

Participant